Rowan wins Inyo County Spelling Bee

– Press release

Superintendent of Schools Terry McAteer and Assistant Superintendent Pamela Jones are pleased to announce that Lyndsey Rowan from Bishop Elementary School won first place in the Inyo County Spelling Bee, sponsored by Altrusa.

Lyndsey Rowan

Lyndsey Rowan

Twenty-two students from six local elementary and middle schools participated in the 2014-15 countywide Spelling Bee last week at Jill Kinmont Boothe School. Sixteen students made it to the final rounds. The winners of the competition were:


1st Place Lyndsey Rowan Bishop Elementary
2nd Place Mahdi Ayman Home Street
3rd Place Aubrey Hart Lo-Inyo


The winning word was: intelligence. The other elementary/middle school contestants included Chris Roberts, Trinity Roberts and Evan Fuller from Big Pine; Brizeida Mora, Graciela Gutierrez, Jessica McGuire and AC Ray of Lone Pine; Naiya Warren, Steven Mather, Danny and Angie Mendoza, and Orion Nash of Owens Valley; Cashus Puhvel, Carter Silva and Jennifer Velazquez from Bishop schools; Rylee Arcularius, Hana Hogan, Tenaya Tordoff, and Braeden McGrale from Round Valley. Several students also joined the preliminary competition as alternates to get practice for next year: Kaitlin Hensley and Jose Dominguez from Lo-Inyo and Nichole Asher from Owens Valley. Congratulations to all the student participants.

Thank you to coaches Cheri Fendon, Lynn Lamb, Shelly Daugherty, Carmen London, Victoria Hamilton, Rory Winzenread, and Lidia Rubio for working with their students to prepare them for the bee. Another thanks to the coach and parent volunteers for proctoring the Preliminary Written Competition.

The local Altrusa chapter sponsored the competition. Gail Swain and Robin Hastie were on hand to distribute awards to students and judge the competition. Liz McAteer graciously accepted the position as the Pronouncer for this year’s competition. Pamela Jones was the Spell Master for the competition. A special thank you goes to Round Valley Parent Organization for donating $5 to the “last person standing” from each of the nine districts competing.

, , , , , ,

Comments are closed.