New boards, new ways?

inyocourthouseLots of changes on the Boards of Supervisors in Inyo and Mono. Three new members on each of the boards will start out the new year. In Inyo County, a swearing-in ceremony has been scheduled for Monday, January 7th at noon on the top floor of the historic courthouse.

Jeff Griffiths will replace Second District Supervisor Susan Cash. Mark Tillemans takes over the previous seat of Marty Fortney in the Fourth District and Matt Kingsley replaces Supervisor Richard Cervantes of the Fifth District. The public is invited to the ceremony. A reception will follow. Apparently voters were ready for a change. Courthouse watchers note that the politics of the new guys may not differ that much from the old. Styles and priorities of the new officials will unfold in 2013. Many are monocourthouse2008watching to see if the new guys take a different view of enforcement of the Inyo-LADWP Long Term Water Agreement.

In Mono County, Tim Alpers replaces Vikki Bauer in the Third District. Fred Stump takes over from Hap Hazard in District 2 and Tim Fesko comes into District 4. Mono’s districts were re-drawn before this last election. Supervisor-Elect Tim Alpers said the new men will be sworn in Tuesday, January 8th. Alpers has said that he will devote a lot of his energy to the re-opening of June Mountain and the stabilization of the community of June Lake.

Money issues sit at the top of the list for Mono County and impacts from the financial crisis in Mammoth Lakes. In both Inyo and Mono, costs of dump operations continue to make news. Another issue expected to impact the two counties – the health care reform act that takes effect next year.

4 Responses to New boards, new ways?

  1. Power-brokers January 7, 2013 at 2:54 pm #

    One of the travesties inherent in the system is that the only qualifications required of the power-brokers is that they received the most votes.
    Unless true-blue serious-minded people are elected, we are all doomed to mediocrity and self-serving BS officials.
    The wrong people are in power.

  2. Trouble January 6, 2013 at 4:11 pm #

    I can’t think of one reason the out going parties deserved another chance.

  3. NewDay January 5, 2013 at 3:59 pm #

    “Apparently voters were ready for a change. Courthouse watchers note that the politics of the new guys may not differ that much from the old.”

    This makes no sense. Are “courthouse watchers” implying that the voters aren’t going to get change?

    I think we’ll see big changes. At least two of the three are much more liberal.

    • Benett Kessler January 5, 2013 at 5:46 pm #

      Can’t tell you how many times over the past 37 years citizens voted in new people with hope for change
      that never came. Of course, one can remain hopeful.


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.