Press release

Mammoth Lakes, California – The 5th Annual Mammoth Lakes Film Festival (MLFF) announced this year’s juried and audience award winners at the Closing Night Award Ceremony at the Polo Event Center in Mammoth Lakes on Sunday, May 26, 2019.

Mammoth Lakes Film Festival logo

The festival, held from May 22-26, screened over 80 films, including 63 in MLFF’s competition categories. Each of the festival winners received an Orson the Bear Award, handcrafted by Josh Slater of Bear in Mind Carvings located in Mammoth Lakes.

“Our fifth festival was nothing short of spectacular,” said Festival Director Shira Dubrovner. “We are thrilled to have been able to host over 100 attending filmmakers and showcase their fabulous and thought-provoking films to our audiences.”

The full list of Juried and Audience Awards is below:

  • Jury Award for Best North American Narrative Feature, with a $1,000 cash prize, $10,000 Panavision Camera Rental Grant and $10,000 Light Iron Post Production Package, goes to A Great Lamp.
    • Special Mention goes to actor Max Wilde for his performance and animation in A Great Lamp.
  • Jury Award for Best International Narrative Feature, with a $500 cash prize, goes to Cat Sticks.
    • Special Mention goes to No Exit.
  • Jury Award for Best North American Documentary Feature, with a $1,000 cash prize, goes to 17 Blocks.
  • Jury Award for Best International Documentary Feature, with a $500 cash prize, goes to Clean Hands.
    • Special Mention goes to Juan.
  • Jury Award for Best Narrative Short, with a $500 cash prize and $5,000 VER Rental Grant, goes to Molly’s Single.
    • Special Mention for strong editing, cinematography and acting goes to Enough Is Enough.
    • Special Mention for choreographed storytelling goes to Diva & Astro.
  • Jury Award for Best Documentary Short, with a $500 cash prize, goes to The Clinic.
  • Jury Award for Best Animation Short, with a $500 cash prize, goes to Dani.
  • Special Jury Award for Bravery, with a $500 cash prize, goes to Midnight Family.
  • Audience Award for Best Narrative Feature, with a $1,000 cash prize and $5,000 Panavision Camera Rental Grant, goes to No Exit.
  • Audience Award for Best Documentary Feature, with $1,000 cash prize, goes to Juan.

North American Narrative Features Jury: Mia Galuppo (The Hollywood Reporter), Sean McDonnell (A24) and Katie Walsh (Tribune News Service, Los Angeles Times)

International Narrative Features Jury: Shalini Doré (Variety) and Max Weinstein (MovieMaker Magazine)

North American Documentary Features Jury: Allison Amon (Bullitt) and Andrew Borden (1091 Media)

International Documentary Features Jury: Gus Krieger (Filmmaker) and Jacques Thelemaque (Filmmakers Alliance)

Shorts Jury: Delila Vallot (Filmmaker) and Harry Vaughn (Sundance Film Festival Programmer)

For information for the 6th annual festival taking place in 2020, visit

About Mammoth Lakes Film Festival

The Mammoth Lakes Film Festival, held in the scenic and majestic setting of Mammoth Lakes in the Eastern Sierra region of California, brings together world-class cinema, emerging filmmakers, industry veterans, and audiences from around the world to celebrate films with thought-provoking stories. The Mammoth Lakes Film Festival is a DBA under Mammoth Lakes Foundation—the nonprofit founded in 1989 by Dave McCoy (who also founded Mammoth Mountain Ski Area in 1953). Dave McCoy turns 104 years old this August and is excited to be a part of the fifth annual Mammoth Lakes Film Festival. for more information or connect on Facebook and Twitter.


2019 Mammoth Lakes Film Festival Sponsors include Panavision, Tambour Foundation, Blue Moon, Light Iron a Panavision company, Sierra Nevada Resort, VER, Mammoth Mountain Ski Area, Mono County, Town of Mammoth Lakes and many more.


Discover more from Sierra Wave: Eastern Sierra News

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading