Inyo-Mono Election Results: June 2010

Election night wrapped up after midnight with an air of uncertainty in some races. Clerks in both Inyo and Mono said that they still have provisional ballots or absentee ballots to count. These ballots mostly came in at polling places, and clerks must check and verify names and other information. Mono County planned to count remaining ballots on Wednesday. Inyo hoped to have a final count by late Thursday or early Friday. In the case of the Mono Supervisor District 1 race it could make a difference. Larry Johnston inched ahead with 210 votes to Bill Sauser’s 205 votes.

Potentially, the Mammoth Town Council race could change although election watchers doubted that development. Election night parties at the Rafters and Lakanuki saw a lot of speculation and clinking of glasses.

Mono Clerk spokesmen said they have in excess of 50 provisional ballots to count. In Inyo, Clerk-Elect Kammi Foote said that her office has 1,273 ballots by mail to count plus 44 provisional ballots. The highlights – Lehman, Eastman and Wood win Mammoth Town Council seats; a run-off race for Mono Judge between Magit and Gephart; Sheriff Rick Scholl wins, so do Measures M and U in Mammoth. Rick Pucci appears to have won a seat on the Inyo Board. Amidst controversy Inyo District Attorney Art Maillet retained his seat. So did Treasurer Alicia McMurtrie. Kammi Foote won the office of Clerk/ Recorder. Below are all the tallies as of election eve for Inyo and Mono:

Mammoth Town Council:

*Matthew Lehman 771

*John Eastman 626

*Rick Wood 548

Kirk Stapp 519

Dawn Vereuck 482

Sharon Clark 451

Tony Barrett 432

Allen Blumer 141

Mono Supervisor Dist 1:

*Larry Johnston 210

Bill Sauser 205


Mono Supervisor Dist 4:

Run-Off *Tim Hansen 285

*Tim Fesko 269

Renn Nolan 222

Bobby Tems 46


Mono Superior Court Judge:

Run-Off *Mark Magit 1564

* Randy Gephart 1458

Therese Hankel 341


Mono County Sheriff:

Doug Northington 1124

*Rick Scholl 2142*


Mammoth Measure M:

*Yes 861

No 683


Mammoth Measure U:

*Yes 1035

No 499


Inyo Supervisor Dist 3:

*Rick Pucci 557

Beverly Brown 267

Karen Ball Summers 257


Inyo District Attorney:

Gerard Harvey 1014

*Art Maillet 2745*


Inyo Treasurer/ Tax Collector:

Jeff Buss 1406

*Alicia McMurtrie 2237

Inyo Clerk/ Recorder:

Kammi Foote 3066

Merie Hannah 607


Measure A in Big Pine:

*Yes 280

No 168

Bishop Unified School Board:

*Jim Tatum 1865 (4-year terms)

*Carl Lind 1762

*Kathy Zack 1654

-Trina Orrill 1382 (2-year terms)

-Eric Richman 1282

John Ellis 1199

Jesse Jason 756



Comments are closed.