ICOE honors Community Star Awards recipients

OVUSD Allie Whisler for Supt. Roseanne Lampariello with Honoree Craig Leck

By Charles James

Round Valley JESD Supt. Karen Marshal with Honeree Rebecca Aquilera and family

Last month, the Inyo County Board of Education and the new Inyo County Superintendent of Schools, Barry Simpson, held its 

2019 Community Star Awards in the McAteer Community Room at Cerro Coso College.

Bishop Union High SchoolAsst. Principal David Kalk with Honoree Dr. Kevin Flanigan and (absent) Colleen McEvoy

Barry Simpson w. Countywide-Recipients Inyo County Art Docent Program Volunteers

Inyo County Office of Education Big Pine Community Star Honoree Dean Rossiat of Carroll’s Market

The annual event, held this year on May 9th, honored parents, community members, business owners, Northern Inyo Hospital, Trout in the Classroom, and the County Juvenile Probation Department. All of them showed great commitment to improving the lives of students and teachers in each individual school in Inyo County.

This is one of my most favorite programs established by former Superintendent Terry McAteer,” said Superintendent Simpson. “It acknowledges how important the support of parents, adults, and communities are to the success of our schools.”

Jill Kinmont Boothe School Kellie Bell with Honoree Rusty McKinley





Inyo CSA-Katie Kolker, Palisades High School with Honorees Inyo County Juvenile Probation Dept.


Each school decides on their own what criteria they choose to use in awarding the honor. The only requirement was that Honorees cannot be employed in any way by the school district. Most honorees are school volunteers, a generous benefactor, an organization, or a business that supports the school.

LPUSD-HS Principal Joe Garza with Honoree Roger Rausche

Home Street Middle School Principal Patrick Twomey with Honoree, Trout in the Classroom, Fred Rowe


Each honoree received a bouquet of flowers, and a beautifully engraved Star Award at the ceremony at Cerro Coso Community College in Bishop. Principals and superintendents, or a representative from each school or school district, made a short statement about the Honoree. 

This year’s list of awardees was:

Big Pine Unified School District—Dean Rossi, owner of Carroll’s Market; Owens Valley Unified School District—Craig Leck for his support of the high school; Lone Pine Unified School District—Roger Rausche; Home Street Middle School—Trout in the Classroom represented by Fred Rowe; Palisades Glacier High School—Inyo County Juvenile Probation Department; Round Valley JESD—Rebecca Aquilera: Bishop Elementary School—Michelle Forbis; Bishop Union High School—Dr. Kevin Flanigan and Colleen McEvoy; and Countywide Recipients—Inyo County Art Docent Program Volunteers.

Bishop Elementary School Principal Gretchen Skrotzski with Honoree Michelle Forbis

ICOE Community Star Awards Honorees for 2019 with ICOE Board members and Supt. Barry Simpson


, , ,

Comments are closed.