Sierra Wave Media

Eastern Sierra News for [current_date format=’F d, Y’]



By Deb Murphy

Candidates running for office in Inyo and Mono counties may have to set off stink bombs at their events to gain any kind of attention in the face of a Presidential Primary Election, held June 7, that defies description.

In fact, as of the March 11 deadline for candidate filings, there are only two elections, Inyo County Board of Supervisors, District 2 and Mono County District 4 being contested. Candidates for Mammoth Town Council and Mono County’s District 3 have until March 16 to file since incumbents for both those races chose not to run for another term.

Here’s what the ballot will look like:

Inyo County:

            Superior Court Judge: Dean Stout

Office of Education, Area 2: David Hefner; Area 4: Mary Kemp

Board of Supervisors, District 2: Jeff Griffiths (incumbent) and Russ Aldridge

District 4: Mark Tillemans

District 5: Matt Kingsley

            Mono County:

            Superior Court Judge: Mark Majit

Board of Supervisors, District 2: Fred Stump

District 4: Tim Fesko (incumbent), John Peters, Bob Tems

District 3: Bob Gardner (additional candidates have until Wednesday to file as incumbent Tim Alpers is not running)

Mammoth Lakes Town Council

            Jennifer Burrows, Brent Truax

Incumbents Jo Bacon and Michael Raimondo are not running. According to Jamie Gray, town clerk, Cleland Hoff pulled papers Friday with the intent to file by Wednesday….


Town of Mammoth Lakes

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the nomination period for candidates for the office of
member of the Town Council has been extended to 5:00 p.m. on Wednesday, March 16,
2016, because incumbents J0 Bacon and Michael Raimondo did not file nomination
papers by the original deadline of March 11, 2016 at 5:00 p.m.
During this extended period, all interested registered voters of the Town of Mammoth
Lakes, other than incumbents, may file as candidates for the office of member of the
Town Council.
All interested registered voters or interested parties having questions relating to the
election are invited to contact the Town Clerk at Town Hall (760) 934-8989, extension