At a few minutes before 5pm yesterday, right before the deadline, there were eight candidates who had filed to run for three seats on the Mammoth Town Council.

Colin Fernie and Shields Richardson filed their papers which they took out last week, and one more candidate came in on the final day to pull papers – Cleland Hoff. It was uncertain if she would get the required signatures in time, but seconds before 5pm she brought in her paperwork and filed.

Here are the eight candidates – John Wentworth, Deb Pierrel, Elena Blomgren, Ken Murray, Karen Sibert, Colin Fernie, and Shields Richardson, and Cleland Hoff. Tom Cage had considered running and decided not to. His open letter is on our website.

Three members of the Mammoth Town Council will change. John Eastman, Rick Wood and Matthew Lehman decided not to seek re-election. Three new council members will take their seats some time after the June 3rd election. Since the incumbents did not file to run again, the deadline to file had stretched through Wednesday.

Other election notes – in Inyo County, former Assistant District Attorney Joel Samuels did not file to run for DA, so District Attorney Tom Hardy will take that seat, uncontested. In fact, the only contested race in Inyo is the one for District 3 Supervisor. Three candidates will go for that seat, long held by Linda Arcularius. They are David Tanksley, Dan Totheroh, and Bill Stoll.

According to the Elections website in Mono County, there are four contested elections. Assessor – Bob Musil and Barry Beck; Sheriff – Ingrid Braun and Ralph Obenberger; Supervisor District 1 – Larry Johnston and Bill Sauser; Supervisor District 5 – Kirk Stapp, Stacy Corless and Greg Eckert.


Discover more from Sierra Wave: Eastern Sierra News

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading