Sierra Wave Media

Eastern Sierra News for June 13, 2024







For political wonks, this election season may never end, as the cable news channels are explaining the outcome, ad infinitum. Fortunately, for Eastern Sierra voters, the final results are relatively clear.

Technically, all the results as of Thursday evening are still preliminary. The final certification takes place November 23.

The Mono County Registrar of Voters provided detail on the final process. As of Thursday
evening, 703 ballots had yet to be counted in Mono. Of those, approximately 490 are vote-by-
mail ballots postmarked on or before November 8, 83 are provisional/conditional ballots and
130 with mismatched or missing signatures. The latter two, totaling 213, can be “cured,” or
confirmed and counted prior to November 23.

California’s 3rd House of Representative District is no surprise. Democrat Kermit Jones leads in Mono County; Republican Kevin Kiley has a 99-vote lead in Inyo County. With 45-percent of the newly-carved out 3rd District vote in, Jones leads with 53.1-percent of the vote compared to Kiley’s 46.9-percent district-wide.

Mammoth Town Council’s three open seats have tightened up, but Chris Bubser still leads the
pack with 897 votes, followed by Amanda Rice at 833, one vote ahead of incumbent John
Wentworth who widened his lead over Elizabeth Truax.

Inyo County
Stephanie Rennie has extended her lead over incumbent Eric Pritchard with 3137 to 2804,

Board of Supervisors

District 1
Trina Orrill, with 691 votes, maintained her lead over Jeff Gabriel, at 583.

District 3
Is close with only 17 votes separating Kody Jaeger at 626 and Scott Marcellin with 609.

Inyo County School Districts
Big Pine: Kamie Bayer (395 votes) and Adelina Rico (391) appear to have claimed the two open
seats with more than 160 votes ahead of third place Alfred Patterson.

Bishop: Incumbents Claudia Moya-Tanner and Virginia Figueroa look to retain their seats,
joined by Josh Nicholson.

Lone Pine: Scott Kemp, Krista McRay-Sullivan and Rachel Yourgules lead the five-candidate

Owens Valley (Independence): Incumbents Joey Peterson and Allie Whisler are leading with
Alisa Lynch currently third.

Again, these results are still considered preliminary with the official certification scheduled for November 23. Sierra Wave will keep an eye on results in the event results change.