California, like almost all other states, will have clocks move forward one hour starting Sunday morning for that all important “extra hour of sunlight in the evening.”

daylight saving time clock hand forwardThe government expanded daylight saving time in 2007 to save energy. It begins on the second Sunday in March and continues until the first Sunday in November.

Not all states observe daylight saving time. Hawaii and Arizona, along with several U.S. territories that include American Samoa, Guam, Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands, also do not observe daylight saving time.

The official change occurs at 2 a.m. Sunday, local time. You might want to change the clocks before going to bed Saturday night, unless you are a night owl and up anyway.

Daylight saving time will end Nov. 1.

Discover more from Sierra Wave: Eastern Sierra News

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading