Sierra Wave Media

Eastern Sierra News for June 22, 2024





Superintendent of Schools, Barry Simpson, announced that Bryce Winzenread from Round Valley Elementary won first place in the Inyo County-wide 2019-2020 Spelling Bee, which was sponsored by Altrusa.

Altrusa International was founded in Nashville, Tennessee in 1917. It is an international non-profit organization focused on community service. The local Altrusa chapter brought cash prizes and trophies for the 1st , 2nd , and 3rd place winners, along with $10 gift cards to Spellbinder Books for all
participants. Maggie Kingsbury, Sherri Lisius, and Cheri Stewart attended to judge the competition and distribute awards to students. Lynne Almeida and Ilissa Twomey graciously fulfilled the positions of Final Competition Pronouncer and  Preliminary Competition Pronouncer respectively.

Twenty-seven students from local county elementary and middle school participated. The event was held at the Jill Kinmont Boothe School. The winners of this year’s competition were:
1st Place Bryce Winzenread (5 th grade ) Round Valley
2nd Place Robin Linse (8 th grade) Home Street Middle School
3rd Place Bryce Cokeley (6 th grade ) Home Street Middle School

There was some stiff competition with words such as condign, rapscallion, and
anathema, with the winning word being paduasoy. (embossed silk fabric, popular
in the 18th century.)

The spelling contestants included: Trinity Diaz from Big Pine; Bryce Cokeley,
Ashley Fitt, Julia Hoang, Robin Linse, Sam Wilson, and Elizabeth McLamb from
Bishop Schools; Ayden Baker, Jaycee Eaton, Kaedyn Hilliard, Aiden Kingsford, and Paul Rodriguez from Lone Pine; Lily Floyd, Kevin Glenn, Jordan Hasty, Noah Reade, and Avy Reilly-Todd from Owens Valley; Rylee Delmas, Maleah DeVincent, Kiera Hubbard-Shinto, Maya Perry, and BryceWinzenread from Round Valley. Some students joined the preliminary competition as alternates to get practice in for next year’s competition: Elizabeth McLamb from Bishop; Joan Rosales and Selena Peden from Lone Pine; Jade Griego and Drake Martinez from Owens Valley; and Marley Whirl from Round Valley.

Special thanks were given to Tim Steele, Meghan Fuchs, Carmen London, Bob Heist, Gemma Arana, and Jennifer Morales for coaching and preparing the students for the spelling bee.

PTO donated $10 to the “last person standing” award from each of the five districts competing, included Trinity Diaz – Big Pine; Sam Wilson – Bishop; Kaedyn Hilliard – Lone Pine; Lily Floyd – Owens Valley; and Kiera Hubbard-Shinto – Round Valley.

Bryce Winzenread and Bryce Cokeley will be representing Inyo County at the Elementary State Bee in May. Robin Linse and Trinity Diaz will represent Inyo County at the Junior High State Bee in May.