2017 Community Star Awards Honorees

By Charles James

The Inyo County Board of Education and the Inyo County Superintendent of Schools held its 2017 Community Star Awards in the McAteer Community Room at Cerro Coso College on Thursday, May 18th.

The Inyo County Office of Education Community Star Award honorees for 2017

The annual award honors parents, community members and businesses which have shown great commitment to improving the lives of students and teachers in each individual school in Inyo County.

Each school uses its own criteria in deciding whom to honor. The only requirement was that Honorees must not be employed in any fashion by the school district. Most honorees would be an intrepid school volunteer, a generous benefactor or a business that supports the school.

Each honoree received a bouquet of flowers, and a beautifully engraved Star Award at the ceremony at Cerro Coso Community College in Bishop after principals and superintendents from each school or school district made a short statement about the honoree. Furthermore, to honor the awardee, a $400.00 donation will be made in their name to Cerro Coso Community College to fund the tuition and books of a local Inyo County Cerro Coso student for an entire year. 

This year’s list of awardees was:

Big Pine Unified School District- Paula and Mike Carrington; Owens Valley Unified School District—Bruce Mather for his support of the high school, and Alice Hay and Megan Leon for their support of the elementary and middle school;  Home Street Middle School—Eddie Davis; Palisades Glacier High School—Curt Mulder; Round Valley JESD—Erin Boehme; Bishop Elementary School—Emilee Norcross; Bishop Union High School—Bishop Lions Club; and Countywide Recipients—Julie Faber and Chris Ellis with Coso Geothermal Operating Company.

GM at Coso Operating Company Chris Ellis and Public Relations Officer Julie Faber were awarded the County-wide Recipients Award by ICOE Board President Chris Langley

OVUSD Superintendent Dan Moore presented awards to Alice Hay and Megan Leon on behalf of the Owen Valley Elementary School.

Home Street Middle School Principal Patrick Twomey far left awarded honoree Eddie Davis with Community Star Award.

Round Valley Superintendent Karen Marshall joined by student presented award to Erin Boehme




Paula and Mike Carrington of Big Pine were presented with Community Star Award by BPUSD Ed Dardenne standing with ICOE Board President Chris Langley



Palisades Glacier High School staff accepted award on behalf of Curt Mulder.


Principal Heather Carr and ICOE board member Alden Nash presented Emilie Norcross with the Community Star Award on behalf of Bishop Elementary School

Dave Kalk presented the Bishop Union High School Community Star Award to the Bishop Lions-Club

OVUSD Superintendent Dan Moore presented award to Bruce Mathe

CCCC Director Deanna Campbell welcomes recipients of the ICSOS Community Star Awards to the Cerro Coso Community College Campus


ICSOS Dr. Lisa Fontana welcome the Community Star Award recipients and their friends and families.


1 Comment
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Marilyn Mann
Marilyn Mann
5 years ago

Thank you to ask our community supporters!!